[ 35 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Python Welcome?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 10:08 pm 

Will palm/hp allow me to embed python in my c/c++ app?

Post subject: Re: Python Welcome?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 11:08 pm 

Yes!

(With the caveat that if you dynamically link python into your app rather than statically link it, the app catalog security scanner might reject it for linking against an unauthorized library.)

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 12:31 am 

Awesome, anyone interested in embedding python? I'm new at it, but i think i've almost got it...

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 2:56 am 

Ok, maybe not. Can anyone tell me if it is not possible to use the libpython2.7.a compiled on the device with the gcc from the pdk?

I thought it was that my computer is x64, but that shouldn't matter should it?

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 5:01 am 

A ARM build of libpython2.7.a should work on device.

I'd first try to get a python interpreter working just to get all the compiler options sorted out, then I'd work on getting the embedded version going.

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 5:05 am 

yeah, i've got a python shell working fine, and just barely got the exe to compile and run on the device. Now on to embedded python problems.

Thanks for your help!

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 3:11 pm 

I was about to start my Python porting to webOS 2 (on my Palm Pre2) when I read this message.
My idea is to not only port Python, but also PyGame. There are A LOT of games and application using PyGame (even in iPhone apps). PyGame is very easy to use (it uses SDL) and you can create Python (with PyGame) apps in the PC and the just copy a .py or .pyc file to the Pre.

Would you like to start a project at Google Code, or we can use a subtopic in the forum.

Fell free to contact me, I believe it will be a great improvement for the webOS Platform to let developers use Python for the apps.

Keep in touch,

Ezequiel

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 8:44 pm